Animal Care

Key Stage 3: Years 7-8

Animal Care is not taught in Years 7 and 8.

Key Stage 4: Years 9, 10 and 11

GCSE Animal Care Specification: Pearson BTEC Level 2, Spec No. 601/4530/4

Unit Core units
1 Animal Health External 30. This is a paper based examination.

Learners are able to recall and apply knowledge of aspects of animal health, including signs of good and ill health in animals, as well as the causes, transmission and treatment of common diseases in animals.

This external unit will focus on the health of the following commonly kept animal species – dogs, cats, rabbits, goats, chickens and bearded dragons – as well as the common diseases and parasites that affect these animals.
Learners will understand the essential signs of good and ill health in animals and understand common diseases, their causes, transmission and treatment and understand the signs, symptoms, prevention and treatment of common parasites.

Learners will understand the levels and frequency of monitoring/checks, the differences between daily visual and weekly physical checks. Learners will be able to identify the symptoms of common diseases in animals, and their causes, prevention and modes of transmission.

2 Animal Handling Internal 30

This unit will introduce how to safely handle animals and use restraint techniques
and demonstrate safe handling and restraint techniques used with animals.

Optional specialist units
3 Animal Welfare Internal 30
4 Animal Housing and Accommodation Internal 30
5 Principles of Animal Behaviour Internal 30

Careers using Animal Care:
There are a wide variety of future jobs and opportunities that this course will be applicable for within our local area and beyond. Further study at Newton Rigg is also available.